BRBC BLOGS - MEMBERS & STAFF

December 14, 2015

Eileen M. Garufi; Beers, Hamerman, Cohen & Burger, PC 

CONNECTICUT'S SMALL BUSINESS EXPRESS PROGRAM CAN PROVIDE MATCHING GRANTS FOR SOME BUSINESSES 

In order to encourage job creation, growth and retention in Connecticut, the Department of Economic and Community Development (DECD) has developed a program called the Small Business Express Program to provide grants and loans to small businesses which meet certain criteria.   The grant portion of the program has generated the most interest among our firm's clients, and some have received grant funds to buy equipment.  The grants are matching, which means the small business must be able to provide a dollar for dollar match to the grant from DECD.  These grants vary from $10,000 to a maximum of $100,000.

December 7, 2015

Rebecca Goldberg, Esq., Berchem, Moses & Devlin, P.C.

Connecticut Employment Laws You Didn’t Know Existed

Why Your Payroll Deductions are Probably Illegal . . . and How to Fix Them 

Any time you are having employees pay you – whether through a payroll deduction or by having the employee pay you directly – you are walking into a legal minefield.  Deductions are typically allowed only when there is some benefit being provided to the employee in exchange.  Costs of loss, breakage, and customer theft are treated by the Connecticut Department of Labor as part of the “cost of doing business,” and are almost never recoverable from an employee.  While many employers are familiar with these parameters, many do not realize that most deductions must be authorized in writing by the employee on a form approved by the Commissioner of Labor.  Even more surprising is that the sample form provided on the Connecticut Department of Labor’s website may not be used without approval from the Commissioner of Labor!

October 30, 2015

Courtney B. Stein, Mitchell and Sheahan, P.C.

Connecticut Wage Payment Laws

So, you have an at-will employee whose performance is unsatisfactory.  

You definitely do not see a future for this individual at your company.  

Keep in mind, there are some important Connecticut wage laws that you need to be aware of before you sit this person and down and consider letting them go.

Upon termination the law requires that the employer pay the employee’s wages in full no later than the business day next succeeding the date of such discharge.  C.G.S. § 31-71c(b).  

For example, if you fire an employee on a Monday, you must pay all wages by Tuesday. 

More Articles ...

Subcategories

Page 6 of 12